Things I Learned from My Father

My Father taught me many things
Patience, flowers and things to eat
Most of all, he taught me democracy
To be a good citizen, to take part, to vote

To collect and save
stamps we would soak
Find a wheat penny or two
it’s something to do as one is worth two
We would relax on a cold winter day
doing a jigsaw to pass the time away
A trip to Maine the beach we would stay
collect some shells early in the day
Crazy eights, let’s play some cards
cribbage, pitch, it’s not really hard

My Father taught me many things
Patience, flowers and thing to eat
Most of all, he taught me to think
To listen, to learn and to do my best

Flowers all so beautiful
many used to be plentiful
Lady slippers so soft and pink
found in the woods oh so meek
Arbutus so fragrant and petite
hiding in the woods beneith the feet
Swamp pinks a fragrance that can’t be beat
in the swamp so don’t get wet feet
Then there are the little pussy willows
soft like kittens on silk pillows

My Father taught me many things
Patience, flowers and things to eat
Most of all, he taught me to feel
To have empathy, to strive for equality

A wild strawberry, taste so fine
takes so many to make shortcake and dine
The big bush berries are easy to find
picky, delicious, and make berry wine
A garden to plant, though I never do
the veggies are so very good for you
Let’s tap some maple trees
boil the sap to make tasty treats
‘Tis the season, a deer Dad would seek
can’t wait to cook a venison steak

My Father taught me many things
Patience, flowers and things to eat
Most of all, he taught me to love
I miss him and loved him, oh so very much

About Donna Strobridge Ianni

RPCV Philippines '67-'69
This entry was posted in General Blog, Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

